I have a really challenging time with my sleep cycle. I’m on a lot of medications which make me sleepy at night. I still tend to get sucked into the internet or chatting with friends or something late at night. Lately, I’ve been falling asleep at 2:00 or 3:00 in the morning and waking up around noon. It’s a habit that’s really hard to break, once you’re on that sleep cycle.

I know that sleep is really important for fibromyalgia, and that people with fibro tend to have disturbed sleep anyway. There’s lots of research about difficulty getting through all the stages of sleep, which of course I can’t locate now. However, the Mayo Clinic website does note that, “People with fibromyalgia often awaken tired, even though they seem to get plenty of sleep. Experts believe that these people rarely reach the deep restorative stage of sleep.”

I had a really good dream last night, in which I felt whole and loved. It helped that it was set in the mountains of Massachusetts, and the scenery was gorgeous.

Anyway, let’s just say that I was pleasantly surprised to find myself sleeping from 11:30 pm to 6:30 am. As an added bonus, I woke up refreshed.

I decided to restart my sleep journal, something that’s helped in the past. A sleep journal is basically a chart where you write down things about your sleep for the night (hours slept, time to bed, etc.). Sometimes writing down the hours you sleep, etc. helps you notice patterns. Also, I am usually motivated to record “improved” sleep hours.

In case you’re interested, here are the things I keep track of in my sleep journal (when I remember to write them down):

  • Day of Week/Date
  • Time to Sleep
  • Duration and Number of times awakened during the night
  • Alarm Time
  • Out of Bed Time
  • Total Nighttime Sleep
  • Meds (am & pm)
  • Daytime sleep
  • In the morning, did you feel: Tired/Refreshed?
  • Did you remember any dreams?
  • What did you do one hour before going to sleep?
  • Notes

I usually keep track of them in a google document, so that I can update it from whatever computer I want to. Also, I like spreadsheets.

