I spent some time outside in the 74 degree weather Thursday (that’s roughly 23 celcius). It’s amazing. The birds are out calling to each other, some chickadees are inspecting our bird house, we’re cleaning up the garden after the big snowstorms.

It’s amazing how much the weather affects my mood. It’s just so wonderful to be outside.

I got my hands in the dirt today, as I worked a bit to clear some space for a new vegetable garden. Mostly I was putting old leaves in brown paper bags, and then spreading a bit of compost. I’m trying to work within my body’s limits, but also stretch those boundaries a little bit. I have a feeling my arms may be feeling it tomorrow, even though I did some stretching. It’s a constant quest for balance.

It’s so nice to have something to focus on. It helps my mood – it gives me a purpose and something to work towards. Knowing that there may be a tasty payoff is an extra incentive. Planning the garden is fun, too (although it can be a little overwhelming). What I’m really looking forward to is when I can go, “Hmm, what shall we have for dinner?” and then saunter outside to grab some tomatoes and basil and maybe even some garlic and whip up a quick pasta dish. Mmm…

I suppose you could say that the garden has the potential to be a giant coping mechanism. I know it is for a lot of people. It lets me use my body, I get connected to the earth (both through cultivating it and through getting it all over my hands), it may reduce the number of trips I have to make to the grocery store, I get healthier food…not to mention being good for the environment. All in all, a win-win situation.

