I’ve been keeping a fairly comprehensive log of pain, sleep, exercise, food, weather, and general health. I’m still collecting data, and figuring out the best ways to analyze it. (How do I isolate variables when there are so many? I guess I should collect a lot of data points.)

There was one correlation that lept off the screen, and I thought I’d share it here in visual form. The two lines are “sleep quality” and “morning pain level,” both ranked on a 1-10 scale. In this case, one is the best possible scenario. Ten is really, really terrible.

See if you notice a pattern.

The part towards the right where it appears that there is only one line is actually the two lines overlapping.

I recently realized that I dread going to sleep. It’s not a nice, relaxing, mmm-this-is-going-to-be-good experience. I basically feel as though I go to bed, am unconscious (hopefully) for a number of hours, have the occasional bizarre dream, and wake up just as exhausted as when I first went to bed. I do not feel rested.

Apparently this is not normal, even though I’m so used to it at this point that I forget some people actually enjoy sleeping. Long story short, I’m going to see my doctor about sleep quality. Poor sleep is associated with fibromyalgia. I’m just hoping that something can be done about it.

