You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 22, 2010.

I’d like to take a break from regularly scheduled discussion of health and lifestyle to discuss macro issues of health and lifestyle. Specifically, I’m talking about the health of our oceans and our planet.

When I went to the beach this past weekend, I was struck by how much plastic littered its shorelines. The calculation is simple. Trash gets washed from parks and streets and shopping malls down storm drains and into the water system. It eventually gets washed into rivers and bays and oceans.

After I returned from camping, I decided to do a little research on garbage and oceans. Maybe I’m too sheltered, and everyone already knows this. I thought I’d share anyway.

What I found most striking – there is a lot of research and information out there – was discussion of the Pacific Ocean “Garbage Patch.” Basically, a lot of that garbage is eventually funneled into ocean gyres. I haven’t taken an oceanography class, but from what I understand it’s an area of rotating ocean currents. Things get pulled in and they stay there: garbage patches in the ocean. You can’t see them via satellite, because plastics have been broken down into small particles that are not visible by satellite.

This trash affects the ecosystems of ocean gyres. Plastics are being broken down into smaller and smaller particles, which are then consumed by plankton, jellyfish, fish that are low on the food chain. These pollutants eventually work their way up the food chain to us. (Think bPA – and more – in your food.) More importantly, it’s destroying our oceans and all the animals/plants/creatures that inhabit them (or eat the things that inhabit them).

There’s a more detailed discussion of the Pacific Garbage Patch at TED.com, which is a great website for talks on current research and events.

In other news, I combined a little bit of environmentalism with exercise today. I walked one mile and collected three bags of trash. Those included the remains of someone’s KFC lunch (I did not open the bag), a child’s sock, numerous plastic bottles, bits of paper, and more.

Note: this takes the place of Friday’s post.

My Etsy Store

A fibro-friendly item from my Etsy store

I've been working on making fibro-friendly jewelry. I'd love it if you checked them out by clicking the image above, or going to www.etsy.com/people/RogueCrafter

About Me

This blog is intended as a place for me to reflect on my own healing journey, in the hopes that others may also gain insight from my experiences. I've "borrowed" a line from Robert Frost's poem, The Road Not Taken:

'Two roads diverged in a wood, and I
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.'

I think the most important thing for me now is that I feel empowered to be a force for positive change in my life. And that, my friends, has made all the difference.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers
April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930