You are currently browsing the daily archive for April 17, 2010.

Rusty blackbirds are called “rusty” because their call sounds a bit like rusty hinges. There was a whole flock of them around our campsite, and we awoke to dawn light and a rusty blackbird chorus. Be forewarned that camping isn’t always quiet!

When did our “test run” in the backyard, we got a taste of what a fox’s mating call sounds like. It’s a bit disconcerting. (Here’s a sample from another Youtube user.)

All in all – if you’re going camping and you have fibromyalgia, either learn to appreciate nature noises or bring earplugs. I happen to like the ambiance, but if you already have trouble sleeping it might be good to come prepared for crazy animal/bird sounds.

As promised, here are some photos from camping. (Real update coming Monday!)

View of the tent

We have a Mountain Hardware Light wedge 3, which is…light. And rather small, but perfectly acceptable for our needs. Although it would be nice if we could stand up in it…The site was perfect – pine needles are comfy to sleep on, and as it’s the off season it was very quiet. We also (accidentally) ended up getting one of the larger sites, which was wonderful.

View from the tent

This is a view from behind the tent – we positioned it so that at night we could look out from our tent “window” and see the stars. There are so many once you get away from a city!

Campsite at Dawn

When we woke up! It was gorgeous, even though it was a little disconcerting to be roaming about that early.

Beach!

Aside from testing the camping equipment, this was the whole point of our trip. It was too cold to swim – brrr, Atlantic in April – but walking alongside it was very relaxing.

My Etsy Store

A fibro-friendly item from my Etsy store

I've been working on making fibro-friendly jewelry. I'd love it if you checked them out by clicking the image above, or going to www.etsy.com/people/RogueCrafter

About Me

This blog is intended as a place for me to reflect on my own healing journey, in the hopes that others may also gain insight from my experiences. I've "borrowed" a line from Robert Frost's poem, The Road Not Taken:

'Two roads diverged in a wood, and I
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.'

I think the most important thing for me now is that I feel empowered to be a force for positive change in my life. And that, my friends, has made all the difference.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other subscribers
April 2010
M T W T F S S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930